Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner

Spray-On Bed-liner

7K views 21 replies 13 participants last post by  redfury 
#1 ·
Hello!

I have a 2002 AWD Astro. It is burgundy with the gold-colored cladding. I want some input on using spray on bed-liner to coat the cladding, front and rear bumper covers and the bottom portion of the van below the cladding.

Let me first say...I have ZERO experience doing any kind of body or paint work on vehicles of any kind. Is this something I could tackle and not have it look like a piece of crap? I love the matte black finish look for the lower part of the van, and hate the gold cladding...at least the color. :) I plan on taking the pin-striping off, too.

I just don't want it to look like crap when I'm done. Please help!!

IMG_0113.JPG

See less See more
#2 ·
I don't have any first hand experience yet, but I can tell you selecting a product will be tricky. There is such a huge variety of spray on liners, all with pros and cons. Someone with actual experience with a specific product will need to chime in.

I'm going to be spraying the body directly this coming summer (no cladding). I spent months researching before I finally chose a product that suited my needs.

Problems include fading from UV and chipping. It would seem a perfect product doesn't exist. The better ones spray on at several hundred degrees so you will need to settle for something that won't melt the cladding. I suspect you will be able to find something that looks good but will require frequent maintenance. In your case something that rolled on would probably work great and give a nice textured look.

Surface prep will be a key factor for success.

(Sorry I have no real info)

#3 ·
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder but I have never under stood rough flat black on the outside of a ride. To each their own of coarse but I have no idea which product best suits your needs. Kinda sorry I even wasted your time reading this now that I think about it.

#4 ·