Seafoam - Good or bad?

Seafoam - Good or bad?

Postby alan2112drums [OP] » July 27th 2011, 5:44am

I have been reading many very informative threads to help me plan for future maintenance work. I came across a cleaner called "Seafoam" which, for the most part, gets good reviews. However, I wanted to hear what Safari/Astro owners have to say about it's effectiveness. Some claim Seafoam caused their vehicles to start leaking oil . They attribute this to cleaning too much gunk off seals that relied on the build up. Is this true? And if so, would it be better for a vehicle with 104K miles (that runs very smooth and doesn't leak) to stay away from Seafoam?
I am not a mechanic and do not plan on doing any work on my own. (I am a painter so getting dirty doesn't bother me). But I do like helping out and like to be informed so I have some idea of what is being done and what is best to do. I appreciate all the time and effort you members contribute to this forum. I just wish I could remember more of what I read!
Alan
Original Poster [OP]
alan2112drums
Fueling (5/8 tank)
Fueling (5/8 tank)
Years of Membership: alan2112drums has been a member for 4 full yearsalan2112drums has been a member for 4 full yearsalan2112drums has been a member for 4 full yearsalan2112drums has been a member for 4 full years
Topics: 14
Alias (AKA): Alan
Year: 2002
Van Make/Model: GMC Safari
Extra Info: SLT AWD

• Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Author

Re: Seafoam - Good or bad?

Postby ihatemybike » July 27th 2011, 11:20am

I've Seafoamed the fuel system in both my vans, cleared up a P0300 on Green. My wife does her fuel system Jeep about once a year. I've yet to try Seafoam in the oil.

Not being a mechanic shouldn't hold you back. These vans are fairly easy to work on, plus there is a wonderful support group with some (like me) even offering phone support.
Aaron

1999 Astro (Green - Daily Driver) - 2WD, 4.3L, 3.23, 220k+ miles, FE2 steering