Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner

4L60E transmission rebuild DIY (on a budget)

38K views 44 replies 19 participants last post by  VANDAYUM 
#1 ·
So I hope some of you guys would like to see something like this (not sure if there is already a DIY on the site), we all have the 4l60e (or the 4l60) and it can be an expensive repair when they go out. A little backround, I got my van for free with a bad tranny. No 3rd or 4th, but it had 1st, 2nd, and reverse. I figured tranny is broken so if I can't fix it then whatever, at least I tried. I am not a trans expert by any means, just a shadetree mechanic with a few years experience, with that said I've done 2 4l60e and a 4l80e all successfully and 2 have been on the road for about a year now. The pics I will use are from my most recent rebuild that I completed last week. Took a few days afterwork to reassemble, I was able to build this 2nd one alot faster than my first one. I only used basic tools to do the job.....

I will try and include as much info as I can, so I will separate the different steps into posts. As with anything get the manual and I used these vids as reference, watch them all the way through first.

teardown vid

rebuild vid

Things you should always get for a rebuild...new heat treated sunshell, Master rebuild kit (mine had the upgraded 9clutch 3-4 frictions), and a new torque converter. There might be other parts you find that need replacing when you tear down too. Here goes....

Pic of the tools I used and the tranny lubes I used (I ordered the trans lubes through o'reillys) missing are a few misc sockets and you need a torx 50 (its actually a torx+50 but I didn't use one of those) with little extension for to remove the bell housing
IMG_1043.JPG

the manual
IMG_1044.JPG

My shadetree spring compressor to remove the drum pistons
IMG_1041.JPG

IMG_0208.JPG

I was fortunate enough to use Copperfiremist's parts cleaner so I did the teardown there and brought everything home for the rebuild