Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner

Introduction+several urgent questions..

2K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  TheFace 
#1 ·
Hello everyone! They call me The Face and I'm glad to be here.

First off: I apologize for skipping the formal introduction, and also if the following topic would have better been placed in a more specific category, but I am in somewhat of an urgent situation as I am leaving town in less than a week.

Recent major changes in my life have prompted me to drop everything and leave my hometown of Cleveland to head west. I have a unique occupation as a self employed tattoo supply merchant so since I make my living on the road anyway, I am already well suited for this type of adventure.

As I've always been a GM guy, my vehicle of choice was a 2003 Chevy Astro RWD with the Discovery conversion. High miles but extremely clean and well maintained with a super strong running engine and tranny.

I will be a part time "van dweller"..meaning my living situation will be about 1/3 motels, 2/3'rds sleeping inside the van or camping in National Forest/Parks.

I have made most of the necessary interior mods including removing the worthless rear power seat/bed (those bolts were a sunuvab***...I needed a friend with a torch to heat em up enough to budge and it was still a p.i.t.a) and building a suitable platform bed with storage for my tattoo supplies and necessities underneath.

My dilemma is a suspension issue but I decided to put this thread in the general section because I would love additional tips and advice on mods from seasoned van dwellers.