Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I am completely new to electronics and I got a book from the library the other day that gives a general overview. However, the book was published in USA in San Fransisco and I am based in the UK in London. I have heard that there is a different voltage in the UK compared to USA so I wonder if the electronic pieces the books suggests to buy might not work here in the UK. If anybody know if that is the case or not i would really appreciate.
regards
hudson

https://192168101.link/

· Registered
01 Astro RWD Cargo, 97 AWD Mark III
2,280 Posts
It is not just the voltage that is different. The cycles (how many times per second it changes) shown as Hz (Hertz) is different also. The US is a 110 Volt, 60 Hz. The UK and Europe are 220 Volt, 50Hz. This only affects household electric.

Automobiles are 6, 12, or 24 Volt and possibly larger.
6 volt are typically small motors like lawn mowers or golf carts.
12 volt are general automotive cars and trucks.
24 volt are typically larger motors like semi trucks and ships (big diesel engines).

In this case a volt is the same as any other volt. If you take 2 - 6 volt batteries hooked together in series (positive to negative) it is the same as a single 12 volt battery but the capacity stays the same. If you hook 2 - 6 volt batteries in parallel (positive to positive) you still only have 6 volts but you double the capacity. Likewise a bank of 4 - 6 volt batteries in series would be the same as a 24 volt battery.

Things start getting real fun and complicated when you start working with capacity (Watts), and current flow (Amps). In automotive electronics is gets extremely complicated when you start dealing with millivolts (millionth volt).

· Registered
112 Posts
I would just say what you are asking about is not 'electronics'; that is things like microchips etc.