Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner
81 - 100 of 103 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
466 Posts
I'm really kind of bummed about the chat feature. I think that was hands down the best aspect of the previous site. I've been a member of numerous forums over the past 20+ years or so, and AS had been the only forum with chat right there on the forum home page which made it easy to chat, even if just a waving or peeling wheel smilie.
IMO no chat should have been a deal breaker for the upgrade.
Well see, there you go then...
 

·
Registered
2002 and 2004, RWDs
Joined
·
287 Posts
I'm having trouble when I want to edit a comment and less often when backtracking while typing the original.
Could be my laptop as it's often not updated on it's own what cha ma nots.
The blinking bar (representing where you're wanting to type) likes to only show up at the beginning or end of comment and refuses to go anywhere in between (I'm using the finger control pad on a lap top, not a mouse or touch screen.) If I accidently didn't put a space in between the 1st & 2nd word in the original comment, I have to erase the whole comment ALL the way to the 1st word to put the space there and then re-type the whole thing
.
It's also happened a few times on original comments (not editing after posting.)
If I want to back track to add an apostrophe, capitalize, add a space or correct misspelling - I can only erase all the way to that spot and type it all over. This happens less often than when editing but did happen when typing this comment.

I did try refresh and it could totally be on my end. Did it happen to anyone else?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
435 Posts
Discussion Starter · #86 ·
I'm having trouble when I want to edit a comment and less often when backtracking while typing the original.
Could be my laptop as it's often not updated on it's own what cha ma nots.
The blinking bar (representing where you're wanting to type) likes to only show up at the beginning or end of comment and refuses to go anywhere in between (I'm using the finger control pad on a lap top, not a mouse or touch screen.) If I accidently didn't put a space in between the 1st & 2nd word in the original comment, I have to erase the whole comment ALL the way to the 1st word to put the space there and then re-type the whole thing
.
It's also happened a few times on original comments (not editing after posting.)
If I want to back track to add an apostrophe, capitalize, add a space or correct misspelling - I can only erase all the way to that spot and type it all over. This happens less often than when editing but did happen when typing this comment.

I did try refresh and it could totally be on my end. Did it happen to anyone else?
I have not experienced this issue. Which browser are you using? Is it updated?

- Cricket
 

·
Registered
2002 and 2004, RWDs
Joined
·
287 Posts
Using Bing, and I'm rarely updated on anything.
Prolly just on my end, I figured I'd ask if it happened to anyone else (just in case it did.)
Not a complaint per se. Just wondered.
I think it's happened on my phone as well (with google), which is also rarely updated.
I suck at the computer so - most times it's me.

Thanks for responding and we're slowly getting used to the site.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
6,946 Posts
Does your computer have arrow keys to navigate the cursor to where you want it?
 
  • Like
Reactions: deafman

·
Registered
2002 and 2004, RWDs
Joined
·
287 Posts
Does your computer have arrow keys to navigate the cursor to where you want it?
🎯That works like a charm.
I'd never had to play with those buttons before and if I did it was long ago.
That's why we call you 'Super Moderator' Big_kid
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,309 Posts
I notice there is no private messages system either huh? That really sucks since I had info in the messages that I need.
 

·
Administrator
Common Sense + Critical Thinking
Joined
·
12,417 Posts
I notice there is no private messages system either huh? That really sucks since I had info in the messages that I need.
Click on your avatar in the top right, go down to conversations.
 

·
Registered
2002 and 2004, RWDs
Joined
·
287 Posts
How hard would it be to make 'What year is your van ?' a required field when joining?
Create user name, password, what year is your van, what email address do you want to use.
That'd square away the most common problem on here right off the bat.

There's easily over 2,000 comments asking a poster what year their van is.
1,000 comments asking the poster to add that info to their profile.
300 comments telling the poster how to add that info, 50 of them with a link.
Pretty sure it's more than that and fans are running full blast somewhere to store those avoidable exchanges.

Could possibly send out an email to current members to fill in that box.
Just like the 'Updates to user agreement' emails we get from elsewhere.
Some send an email just to see if you're still active.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
768 Posts
Hi...I've been a poster at Astrosafari for some time and I find the new format to be confusing compared to the old forum. Although it's not a big deal, I don't particularly appreciate being regarded as a newbie after having accumulated several hundred posts in the old forum.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
435 Posts
Discussion Starter · #95 ·
How hard would it be to make 'What year is your van ?' a required field when joining?
Create user name, password, what year is your van, what email address do you want to use.
That'd square away the most common problem on here right off the bat.
Although the option is certainly available and should be encouraged, (we can make a sticky) it will not be a REQUIREMENT.

For those who are not sure how to add the information to your profile, please see the following.

In the upper right-hand corner of the site, click on your avatar and scroll down to select Account Settings.
Font Screenshot Software Gadget Electronic device

Scroll down to Vehicle Details and enter your vehicle information.
Sky Font Darkness Circle Magenta

When you are done, scroll down to the bottom and click Save.

- Cricket
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
435 Posts
Discussion Starter · #96 ·
Hi...I've been a poster at Astrosafari for some time and I find the new format to be confusing compared to the old forum. Although it's not a big deal, I don't particularly appreciate being regarded as a newbie after having accumulated several hundred posts in the old forum.
Are you referring to the Trophies?

- Cricket
 

·
Registered
2002 and 2004, RWDs
Joined
·
287 Posts
Although the option is certainly available and should be encouraged, (we can make a sticky) it will not be a REQUIREMENT.- Cricket
The forum once strongly encouraged searching for already existing posts covering your problems, which was good before Facebook Astro groups became popular.
On FB they get answers fast and plenty of them, typically it's piss poor advice but they can't tell the difference.
Now days folks just want to pop in and get an answer.
It's hard to give a long, detailed, answer for every new member that doesn't want to search.
We can no longer tell them to search because they'll just go back to FB.
By not telling them to search, hits for key words are so numerous that searching becomes pointless (except for stickies.)
There's not much that we can do about that except roll with it and make more stickies.

All that said, FB users are asked to answer a few questions before joining any group.
Those questions weed out bots and scammers who try to join EVERY group just to spam it.
It'd be no big deal to ask new members what year their van is, a few questions are normal.

*Year wouldn't have to be 100% required by adding 2 options.
'Don't yet own a van' would actually be great for knowing what's up with those questions.
'Prefer not to say' for people with privacy issues and what not.

Many Auto Parts Store websites won't even show a car part's price without 'Check to see if this fits your vehicle.'
A forum where people are asking advice for their van can / should require giving a year.

Would it be hard to do or not?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
435 Posts
Discussion Starter · #99 ·
Those questions weed out bots and scammers who try to join EVERY group just to spam it.
We have special tools that help weed out the spammers.

- Cricket
 

·
Administrator
Common Sense + Critical Thinking
Joined
·
12,417 Posts
On FB they get answers fast and plenty of them, typically it's piss poor advice but they can't tell the difference.
ROFL, I won't comment further on that ;)
We can no longer tell them to search because they'll just go back to FB.
Isn't FB THE internet? LOL
All that said, FB users are asked to answer a few questions before joining any group.
I really wish people would put the pertinent information in their signatures or profiles, AND in the first post of their threads. But can't even get them to use the search box so I think that is going to be an uphill battle.
 
81 - 100 of 103 Posts
Top