Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning to take my 03 awd 1st I'm changing to 4x4 I have all them parts now ..after I'm going to order max lift kit from journeys off road with whatever I may need ..longer shocks etc ..last but not all I'm now hunting a 2002 to 2005 4x4 truck with 6.2 or 6.0 or the caddy 6.2 for big power I'll have donor truck so I'll have alot of what I need ..I'm trying to find list of parts I'll need for sure if it's better to get a painless wiring harness I will I'm doing a lot of research .I'm new to this newer stuff swap.i often thank a 383 stroker n 400 trans would be better but I'd like this to be show worthy one day and I'd like it all to work n be a great daily driver as well as take a 2k trip across desert ..I'm excellent welder n fab .great mechanic it all I've done n went to school for but ls swaps n computers I'm new at ..so if anyone will point me in a direction I'll check it out ..thanks guys ..when I'm done I'd like it to look badass and factory setup.a/c n cruise n all working as should n if you smash gas hold on ..maybe even supercharger...

·
Premium Member
6,797 Posts
03 to 05 have rear disc brakes, to use a non LS V8 you will need a custom oil pan, or you will have to raise the drive line up to clear the front diff. To use an LS you will also need to get a custom oil pan or raise it up. Non LS will also need a specific passenger side exhaust manifold. Let me know if you need that info, I have it in my notes. The 400 trans may be hard to find the correct transmission to transfer adapter to fit the frame, since the cross member was designed for the 4l60e.

·
Registered
2000 Lifted 4x4 Astro 92 V8-350 Shorty
5,886 Posts
Does anyone know did any Astro / safari vans come with rear disk brakes ..
You say you have an 03.. and yet don't know it has rear disc brakes?

i often thank a 383 stroker n 400 trans would be better but ...