Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start with the fact that I am not a transmission expert. I barely know the basics of how an automatic trans functions.

This was an intermittent problem with the van when I first bought it, but it has now transcended to a full time issue.

The van drives normally when I putter around town and on the highway - but when I floor it (regardless of the how fast I am going), the van will downshift and rev up, but I won't really gain any speed.

I've added about 1/2 a quart of Lucas transmission stop leak after reading about similar issues with the 4L60E, but I haven't noticed any improvement.

Could this be a sign of my TCC solenoid going bad? How should I even begin to diagnose? I have a scan tool, but I'm not sure that it reads any transmission codes. I have no check engine light, no codes present, and all monitors set.

Thanks
Max

·
Administrator
Common Sense + Critical Thinking
12,717 Posts
Is this the 99 Drug Mule edition?

Always helps to put the year/model/drive/conversion etc in your profile or signature so we know what we are working with.

Did you ever do your LIM? Injectors? Any codes or check engine light? Misfires? Change your fuel filter with the new pump? Test fuel pressure?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
This is the mule, lol.

It is a 99 2wd with 157k miles on it.

I have not done the intake manifold gaskets, watching my oil and coolant and levels on both of those have stayed steady.

After the lift and big tires, I haven't done anything but drive it. I have no misfires, the fuel pump and filter I replaced when I replaced the tank (new tank was nice and clean before I put it in). No codes, no CEL, I haven't checked the fuel pressure because I assume it's good considering the pump is only a few months old.

Max

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·