Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2002 GMC SAFARI AWD
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm new to the whole astro safari stuff, actually I'm new to just gm in general, have had my 02 safari for about 6 months now and I like it for the most part (awd does great in the snow)

Anyway onto my problem, I had several gauge and dash lights out when I got it so I decided to replace them with LEDs, I got the gauge done and then discovered I needed the special bulbs for the headlight switch and the climate controls so I just let it be for then. Now here i am a few months later and i got the right bulbs for the dash, got the headlight switch bulb in, it worked, put the climate controls bulb in, it didn't work. Then I noticed none of them were working. I checked the fuses and they were fine, I just have no lights on the dash, no lights on the radio either and when the headlights come on the display for the radio and compass dims to off, I dont have any issues with the exterior lights or brake lights so I think the headlight switch is ok unless it's the instrument dimmer? Not sure really

·
Registered
1998 LS AWD Forest Green metallic
1,240 Posts
Not sure this is part of your problem, but be careful with LED's. They are diodes (one-way devices) and they have a polarity. If the base is such taht it can be installed in two differenent orientations, one way will work, and the other way may not. (Some of the new, higher end , LED's have an additional diode matrix circuit inside them. That allows them to function either way)
Some of the wedge base bulbs, and others, can be inserted either way, but only function in one of the two positions. I found that with some of the overhead interior lamps.

Rod J
Issaquah, WA

·
Registered
2002 GMC SAFARI AWD
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·