Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just beginning to make a camper van out of my 2000 Astro AWD. I used to be in the RV business just for the record. There is lots of room for fresh and gray water tanks under the van if I can relocate the spare and install a smaller muffler. Any suggestions on a smaller muffler that will work?

·
Super Moderator
6,966 Posts
Welcome aboard!

My van needed an exhaust system when I first got it. Money was tight, so I took what I could get. A buddy offered me the exhaust from an E150 van. It didn't take much to get it to fit. It didn't fit well, but it fit. I've since replaced the intermediate and tailpipes, but the muffler is still there almost 14 years later. It is significantly smaller than a stock Astro muffler. I noticed it is the same muffler that was on the 85 F150 I had prior. It is very quiet and seems to flow well enough, even behind a 350.

Reactions: ScottAdie

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome aboard!

My van needed an exhaust system when I first got it. Money was tight, so I took what I could get. A buddy offered me the exhaust from an E150 van. It didn't take much to get it to fit. It didn't fit well, but it fit. I've since replaced the intermediate and tailpipes, but the muffler is still there almost 14 years later. It is significantly smaller than a stock Astro muffler. I noticed it is the same muffler that was on the 85 F150 I had prior. It is very quiet and seems to flow well enough, even behind a 350.
Thanks, I'll look into that. I expect to have to modify the pipe and I want the exhaust to exit in front of the rear tire to clear the area behind the axle of the tailpipe.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The Tigers put the grey water tank where the spare tire was as well, they kept the stock exhaust though.