Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1986 base model Astro 4.3
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings Fellow Members,

I'll try to be brief; I need help. I'm no mechanic but have some skills. 1986 Astro 4.3, 150,000 miles original problem. stall after a few minutes driving, would restart and idle enough to limp home, any push of the accelerator would cause severe stumble and or stall again. Then it was stolen but recovered, sat for seven years. Now is a "retirement project". I thought it was a fuel issue, replaced the following: Delphi fuel pump, rebuilt TBI, new injectors, plenty of fuel pressure and volume, return line unobstructed. Wires cap rotor plugs all good, new module. Timing TDC and steady. Afterwards, (bypass reconnected) timing light showed 8-10 advanced at idle but the second you put your foot in it, retard 20 degrees opposite direction, stumble and near death. So..., replaced knock sensor (genuine GM), E.S.C module, ECM. Checked routing of all wiring, ESC module has power, grounded and sending 9 volts to ECM but the ECM still insists on retarding the spark 20 degrees. This is driving me a little crazy all over the course of the last 15 months or so. I don't own a scan tool geez, might need one. Am I missing something? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
612 Posts
Did you check for codes? That will at least give you an idea of what's going on.

Here's the diagnostic tree from my FSM. Mine is a 94 but the info is still the same.

Font Material property Parallel Schematic Paper

Font Publication Material property Book Handwriting

Font Material property Parallel Schematic Engineering

Font Material property Handwriting Parallel Pattern

That should give you a place to start.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·