AWD Astro Camper Van Conversion

Forum rules
Build topics only! Members are allowed one topic per vehicle in this forum. Topics may only be started by the vehicle owner but all are welcome to reply to the authors project thread.

AWD Astro Camper Van Conversion

Postby vd813 [OP] » April 7th 2018, 6:50pm

4.3 V6 LT AWD Chevrolet Astro
astro.png
sale photo

Hey guys, I thought it would be better to create a new topic for my Astro project. Here's the link to the introduction thread: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=132498#p1430074

My plan is to convert the Astro into a camper van for camping purposes. I'm new to cars in general, so I'll be very thankful for any tips from you guys.

Here we go.

I bought the Astro 2 weeks ago, and spent the last couple of days disassembling the interior.
Here's a before/after:
before.jpg
Before

after.jpg
After

Current state:
The engine and the body seem to be in a decent condition. Here's a list of what needs fixing so far:

Major (will be done by mechanic):
-A/C does not work.
-Front-right breaks heat up a lot more and more quickly than the breaks on the other tyres. It even starts smelling after just one sudden stop.
-The engine has a gas injection added to it, but the job has been terribly done, need to remove the whole thing.
-The engine seems to overheat quite a bit.
-The transmission is jumpy, you can really feel the change in gears.
-Big rust spot on the interior, gotta weld a new piece of metal. I kept digging to see how far the rust goes, and my screwdriver went all the way through.
20180407_175118.jpg
Rust spot with some mechanical treatment

20180407_192430.jpg
Rust spot after realising that there is no hope

Minor (will be done by me):
- The hatch shocks are completely busted. Need to buy new ones.
- One of the side doors of the dutch doors doesn't stay open.
- Need to change lightbulbs for the high beams.
- Probably buy a new set of tyres for more off-road purposes.

Plans:
1. Treat the rust and repaint the treated spots.