Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner

BP's Super Sleeper - 2001 AWD Astro LS

3K views 25 replies 14 participants last post by  astroracer 
#1 ·
Hi Everyone,
I've completed a life long dream and purchased an Astro at the end of July. Believe or not but I've been dreaming of buying an Astro/Safari for the last 15 years, dropping in a V8, adding some boost, and creating a Super Sleeper to stomp unknowing muscle cars.

I bought it off of the 2nd owner who had it for the last 16 years. He garaged it it's entire life and it's immaculate (as far as WI cars go). Only a couple wart sized rust bubbles on the front side of the rear passenger fender, and some DIY paint weirdness on the driver side B pillar. Here's a ton of photos that I took the day that I picked it up...

Google Album: 2001 Chevy Astro 7-28-2018

Mechanically, it's it good shape. Besides a bad driver's side window motor and a MAF code, it seems really good.

It's pretty much been sitting in the garage for the last few weeks as I've putzed with it when I'm not working. So far I've cleaned the MAF, installed a K&N panel filter, replaced both window motors, the driver's side window switch, the headlight switch, the rear taillights, the front turn lights, front corner "lights", all of the exterior bulbs except for the headlight bulbs, and I put LEDs in the instrument cluster and an LED in the license plate light. Oh yeah, new wiper blades too. ;)