lap strap seat belts to 3 point?

lap strap seat belts to 3 point?

Postby Scubes [OP] » December 2nd 2013, 10:33pm

I have a 97 Astro and I'm pretty new to all this having acquired it recently. Unfortunately in my haste to buy it I didn't think to look at the seat belts in the back (not that it probably would have changed my mind). Unfortunately they are of the lap strap kind and I have two adorable little rug rats that obviously need to be in car seats. unfortunately most car seats are designed with a 3 point harness in mind. Rather than going out and buying car seats for lap straps which there are few and only work up until the child is around 4 years I'd rather try and change the seat belt set up on the rear bench to a 3 point system. I have obviously seen examples with 3 point harnesses and wondered if its a simple case of the anchor points being the same in most vans?
If so is it a simple case then to be able to change the setup, if not how does one go about changing it and still complying with MOT's etc or have I just shot myself in the foot with this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Steve
Original Poster [OP]
Scubes
Fueling (Empty tank)
Fueling (Empty tank)
Years of Membership: Scubes has been a member for 7 full yearsScubes has been a member for 7 full yearsScubes has been a member for 7 full yearsScubes has been a member for 7 full yearsScubes has been a member for 7 full yearsScubes has been a member for 7 full yearsScubes has been a member for 7 full years
Topics: 2
Alias (AKA):
Van Model Year: 1997
Van Make/Model: Chevrolet Astro

• Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Author

Re: lap strap seat belts to 3 point?

Postby markmitch » December 3rd 2013, 12:52am

best advice is to look in other vans -maybe in the salvage yards and such. Mine in an 89 with 4 buckets and 1 bench and the bench is in the very back and it has shoulder harnesses. let me know if you need a picture.
markmitch
AstroSafari Pioneer
AstroSafari Pioneer