Noob questions about front end rebuild.

Noob questions about front end rebuild.

Postby turntupturnip [OP] » July 28th 2017, 2:01am

I bought a 05 AWD Astro with 136K that I am converting into a camper. I intend on doing a 2" body lift and putting larger tires on it for mild off-road activity.

I just noticed that the van has a cracked stabilizer bar, so I am going to replace that and do the idler arms at the same time.

From the look of the rest of the suspension parts, I am guessing that they are all original. They look like this :

Any suggestions on what else I should replace while I have the van in the air and the front end taken apart?

FYI, I'm new at auto repair. I have done a fair amount of work on my little Saturn S-series, but it is so much simpler under there than this AWD beast.
Original Poster [OP]
turntupturnip
Fueling (5/8 tank)
Fueling (5/8 tank)
Years of Membership: turntupturnip has been a member for 3 full yearsturntupturnip has been a member for 3 full yearsturntupturnip has been a member for 3 full years
Topics: 13
Alias (AKA):
Van Model Year: 2005
Van Make/Model: Chevrolet Astro
Extra Info: AWD

• Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Author

Re: Noob questions about front end rebuild.

Postby Mmusicman » July 28th 2017, 2:10am

What I notice even more from the looks of your photos... is that these parts don't appear to have been lubed in quite some time! This could lead to a possibly dangerous condition.

If nothing else... clean off those fittings and zerk them up!
Especially the ball-joints!

Some of these parts "can" go a very long time... others not.
Everything should be wiggled, pried, and checked!

I just changed some tie-rod ends on my 92 that had close to 300K original on them. They weren't terrible... but the idler arms have been changed several times already.

Your results may vary.... :D
2000 Astro LS 4x4 | NP233 | 31" LT265/70R17 Tires | 8" LIFT | 10" TOTAL
92 Chevy Astro Cargo Shorty | V8-350