Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner

Add-a-Leaf Helper Springs... Questions

5K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  dumb lady 
#1 ·
Hi fellas!
We are putting in my Overland Vans helper springs today.
We have one of the springs on the van apart.
Both Dean over at ASV & the instructions say to discard the foil shims between the leafs. Are they talking about these sheet metal shims here? There are a set of 2 between each.
Because, they sure don't look like 'foil' to us. And if they are to be left out, won't the springs then ride on each other?
Would that be bad? Are we supposed to put anything back?
We are assuming they need to be left out to fit the added leaf in. Just wanna make sure it's alright.
Thanks muchly for the help!

See less See more
#3 ·
I'm not very good at technical posts, but here are some pix of how he took the springs apart.
(Be sure to support the axle with blocks before you take your springs out)

Ok the add-a-leaf helper spring we got were a little too long. So Mr D/L Had to cut them.

He used the grinder here & took 1/4" off the end. (The one pictured below hasn't been cut yet)

Later he thought 1/4" wasn't enough so he cut 1/2" off the passenger side helper spring. He said if the driver side really needs it, he'll use a shipfitting wedge & grind it off a little more in place.

Anyway, he put everything back together while I was out this morning, so I didn't get pix of that. Sorry. He also installed new KYB Gas Adjust shocks in the rear.
(We have new front shocks too & will get to them very soon)

This afternoon, we took it for a quickie test drive.
Unfortunately me & Mr Carlo Rossi were already heavily involved.
I was bombed, so Mr D/L drove the van.
The roads are all very smooth here in Florida & truthfully, I felt no difference in the ride.