driveshaft shortcoming

driveshaft shortcoming

Postby cavegearhauler [OP] » May 3rd 2008, 10:23pm

OK so hi everybody. I am a newbie though I have been pouring over the site for a few weeks now. I have had my van for over five years, a 99 safari sle, and have been vanning for almostv twenty.
So I have been looking at some of the engine swaps and some of the lifts as I am thinking of doing both at the same time. I was going to drop the sub-frame but now am actually considering cutting the core support. I am shy one lift! So it seems everybody likes the 5.7 v8 and it seems like a good choice but in doing so they have to cut the shroud and change the mounts-- this allows the motor to move forward rather than the driveline move back. OK so getting to my point (yes, finally!) I have noticed some of the lifted vans seem to have the rear wheels a bit forward in the wheelwell. Does anybody see a major problem with simply letting the engine slide everything back a bit? This might kill two birds with one stone. I am sure theres a little linkage issues to mess with and of course the adapting of the tranny mount but other than that... anything?

Lastly, does anybody know exactly what the "drop spindles" overland sells are off of. I would rather buy them used and I doubt they have them cast-- it would be quite expensive and pretty much prohibitive for a small amount. I think they would better retain all the geometry for the front end than sprins and the only adjustment would be in the steering linkage. Bigger springs would change the camber would it not?

OK thanks so much to anybody who has some personal experience to answer these questions!! :-)

thanks in advance guys, and ladies, if applicable.
Matt :feedback:
Original Poster [OP]
cavegearhauler
Fueling (Empty tank)
Fueling (Empty tank)