Rear suspension - metal to metal clashing sound

Rear suspension - metal to metal clashing sound

Postby pbob65 [OP] » December 22nd 2015, 11:19pm

Hi All,
I'm getting a disturbing noise from the rear suspension. It seems the bolt have some 'play' in the frame-hole and that give a metal-to-metal clash or click sound.

Any suggestion how to solve this ?
How is this bolt called ? Should I order a new one ?
I also thouhgt I would need to make the holes bigger (reamer) and use an over-size bolt.
(FYI : the picture is borrowed. Our van has new suspension and no rust (anymore :) )
thanks for the feedback.

I'm new to Astro. I recently saved a 1991 after it was abandoned for more than 6 years. My wife and I completely rebuild and hand painted the van for our son.
Attachments
bolt.jpg
suspension bolt
Original Poster [OP]
pbob65
Fueling (Empty tank)
Fueling (Empty tank)
Years of Membership: pbob65 has been a member for 5 full yearspbob65 has been a member for 5 full yearspbob65 has been a member for 5 full yearspbob65 has been a member for 5 full yearspbob65 has been a member for 5 full years
Topics: 2
Alias (AKA):
Van Model Year: 1991
Van Make/Model: Chevrolet Astro

• Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Author
  • Suspension recommendations
    by rozmpatterson » September 9th 2020, 10:18pm in Stock Suspension
    1 Replies
    Last post by sixsix View the latest post
    September 10th 2020, 4:30pm
  • Suspension
    by marchese68 » September 21st 2020, 8:40pm in Stock Suspension
    1 Replies
    Last post by markmitch View the latest post
    September 21st 2020, 9:19pm
  •  
    Last post by AstroSafari.com View the latest post
    January 26th 2021, 10:11pm

Re: Rear suspension - metal to metal clashing sound

Postby WoodButcher » December 23rd 2015, 1:46am

New rear shocks.
WoodButcher
V8 Swap Achievement
V8 Swap Achievement
Firing on 5 Cylinders (L6)
Firing on 5 Cylinders (L6)