96 Astro LQ4/LQ9 Swap

96 Astro LQ4/LQ9 Swap

Postby jonamond [OP] » March 5th 2017, 5:40am

Hey everyone, we decided to pull the trigger and go for the V8 Swap... things are getting interesting so I figured I'd share with everyone.

This is my father-in-laws van, I work as a automotive tech so I'm giving him a hand, making his dreams come true :thumbup:
We initially did some work to the 4.3 (cam, headwork, etc.) but wasn't very impressed with the power it was making. We decided to go and turbo the 4.3 but after reading about the split-pin crank and issues with the fuel system/intake system with boost, its just seemed going to a v8 was going to be a more "bang for the buck" in terms of power and reliability.

I found a complete "LQ9" with all the goodies to make it run for $1000 bucks with the 4l80e transmission. This is a DBW setup.
IMG_0814.jpg

The 4.3 on the way out :wave:
IMG_0828.jpg

Engine bay awaiting its new friend
IMG_0825.jpg

Needs some TLC, looks like its had a rough life.
IMG_0821.jpg

Upon pulling one of the spark plugs, I wasn't surprised to find the this "LQ9" was actually a "LQ4". With pretty much the only difference being the pistons, I'll just throw a set of flat top pistons to bump the compression back up. I will be doing a complete tear down and giving it a bit of a refresh. Also she'll be getting an awesome sounding lumpy camshaft kit and a set of headers we got for free which we should be able to make fit.
Also found two cracks on the bell housing which I'll need to get welded up. Notice the top ear broken right off.
IMG_0819.jpg

We are currently trying to decide on accessory mounting brakes as we would like to keep and compressor in the factory location. Found this setup on Lssimple.net which looks nice, but need to make sure it will clear the booster/master cylinder
driver+high+mount+Ac.jpg
driver+high+mount+Ac.jpg (41.88 KiB) Viewed 3457 times