Transmission Leaks only on "very cold mornings."

Transmission Leaks only on "very cold mornings."

Postby johnsastro [OP] » February 25th 2011, 1:46am

Hi all, newbie here that needs some help amd advice

I just purchased a 2003 Astro 2wd passenger van 102k miles.

Everything was fine until I started the van up in the early morning, outside temperature was below 10 degrees F.
I let the van warm up for about 2 minutes then ran an errand for about 1/2 hour.
Pulled back into the driveway and saw a huge puddle of trans fluid where I park the night before.
I looked under the truck and saw some dripping coming from the weep hole where the bell housing bolts to the motor(bottom center).
Hmm...very disturbing. Check fluid and added .25 quarts to bring to proper level. After van was warmed up, dripping stopped and all was
good all day.

The next morning very cold again. I started the van up and immediately checked underneath. Fluid was streaming out through the weep hole, Oh crap.
Leveled off fluid again and drove it all day, no leaking.

Next morning I decided to take it to a local tranny shop(30 years experience). Mornings temps were in the 20's, much warmer than the 2 previous nights. I started the van and looked underneath, no fluid streaming out like previous mornings. Drove to the tranny shop and explained to him that when the early morning temps are below 10 degrees it streams out fluid then stops after the van is warmed up for the day. He said he never heard of such a scenerio but would check it out and probably a pump seal problem. Left the van overnight.

Talked to the shop today and he said all looked OK, trans shifted. He noticed a little wet underneath from previous fluid purge . He stated he's hesitant to do anything to the van and wouldn't warranty any work done on seals. I'm leaving the van at his shop tonight to see what happens at startup in the morning.

My Questions are: