Seeking advice - repair, replace, or upgrade?

Seeking advice - repair, replace, or upgrade?

Postby AngryPunk [OP] » February 18th 2021, 11:56pm

My beautiful 03 is deceased and I've found a replacement: 1999 AWD with 480k Kms and a transmission that won't go past second gear. Plan is to toss the 4.3 and replace with a V8 (5.7 Vortec maybe?). The top priority is the transmission. I want a tough sleeper camper astro that's reliable.
Would you recommend:
a) temporary used 4L60e (then pair new motor and tranny later) - probably the cheapest option.
b) buy a remanufactured 4L60e - I am reasonably confide t I could install it myself.
C) pay a shop to have this one rebuilt - approx 2k
d) get a remanufactured 4L80 so it's a bit stronger for pairing with a V8 later on.
e) any other suggestions

I have no experience rebuilding engines or transmissions, but I'm keen to learn. Ideally I'd find a mentor with spare time to oversee the process.
My budget is limited. Best I could manage is about US$4k all in. So that limits my choices. People have recommended an LS swap but I think that's unlikely on my budget.
There's not much else wrong with it. No codes. ABS light comes on but I can resolder the EBCM. Fuel pump was already replaced. Could probably use ball joints but that's not urgent.

Grateful for any suggestions and the wisdom of your experience.
Attachments
PSX_20210218_144017.jpg
Original Poster [OP]
AngryPunk
Firing on 1 Cylinder (L1)
Years of Membership: AngryPunk has been a member for 2 full yearsAngryPunk has been a member for 2 full years
Topics: 33
Alias (AKA):
Van Model Year: 2003
Van Make/Model: Chevrolet Astro
Extra Info: V6 RWD No Windows

Re: Seeking advice - repair, replace, or upgrade?

Postby Ray M » February 19th 2021, 12:03am