Trying to understand tcc lockup and how the overdrive works

Trying to understand tcc lockup and how the overdrive works

Postby Bread Van [OP] » November 14th 2012, 12:22am

Hey guys. I'm pretty new to automatic transmissions and know there is a lot of great knowledge here.

I'm looking for a guide/tutorial on how the 4L60E operates. Specifically what overdrive does and what/when/how TCC lockup occurs. Just so I know what my van is doing and can verify it is operating as it should.

As I was driving my loaded van home last night over hilly highways (without radio on for a change) I noticed the van seems to have a couple different drive options. :driving:

Here is what prompted the question:

For each of these first two "shifts" I either don't change my position on the accelerator or I push it down only very gently.
I begin cruising flat at 70ish MPH, I come upon a hill and the van seems to do a little shift, RPMs bump up a little. Is this the van coming out of TCC lockup?

As the hill gets steeper I get another little shift and the RPMs bump up a little more. Is this the van coming out of OD. I've always been under the impression that OD is somewhat equivalent to 4th gear. So at this point I'm assuming I'm in 3rd gear? Right?

All the while this is happening I'm losing speed because these are real hills and I'm driving mostly between 4000 and 7000' elevation. So...If I want to keep my speed up the push the accelerator harder, big change in position. Then the van does an obvious downshift and the RPMs jump quite a bit, the motor ROARS...it seems almost as if it's jumping right into 2nd gear. I don't like to run the van like this unless I have to for some reason like passing when a rare uphill passing lane is available.

Do I have this all right?