Extra wire on Spyder headlights

Extra wire on Spyder headlights

Postby CougarsLS [OP] » October 3rd 2011, 6:12pm

Please Help! What I would really like is to have the new lights come on the same way my daytime running lights come on. The lights turn off when the starter is engaged to save the battery and when in the daytime mode the brightness is reduced as there not needed to see the road. It should be simple enough.The problem is that I don't have any experience doing this kind of thing and I don't want to damage anything while trying to figure it out. Has anyone out there done this before? I have talked with couple of auto electric shops and they assured me that it was a big deal with lots of testing and research and that I would have to leave it with them. I've had some bad experiences with shops that take a lot of time telling me about all of the problems and don't say anything about the solution. That's a bad sign that usually results in the job done wrong or being over charged or both. The wiring diagrams are readily available I'm just not in tune with how to read them. I don't have an issue with paying someone to do the job for me provided that its done rite and I don't have any future problems related to it. My question is what is the rite way to do this kind of thing? Can I attach my new extra lights wiring to the current headlight wiring provided that I find out witch wires are the correct ones or will the extra current draw heat up the wiring or cause other problems? I would be adding four small marker sized bulbs to each headlight or are there better approaches. Thanks in advance for any advice. Cougar.
Attachments
IMG_4650.JPG
Original Poster [OP]
CougarsLS
Firing on 1 Cylinder (L1)