Looking for a delay relay

Looking for a delay relay

Postby Jasen [OP] » November 11th 2011, 4:04am

OK, here's the latest hair ball idea I'm coughing up.

With the security partition I can't see if my slider is locked, so I'm always running over to that side to check it when I'm out and about.

My thinking is to get the power door lock contacts for the slider at the PnP and install them to constant power. Then wire in a reed switch that is activated by the manual door lock lever so that the switch is open when locked and closed when unlocked. Then wire in a piezo buzzer inside the door that will go off when the door is closed and unlocked.
So now what I need to find is a time delay switch/relay so that the buzzer will only sound for say 5 seconds.
Anyone have any idea's where I can find such a relay or timer for a reasonable price.
I'm a Journeyman woodworker,
Every projects a journey man.

Ultra gauge

Being a mad scientist IS NOT as easy as it look's on TV

Original Poster [OP]
Jasen
Site Contributor
Site Contributor
Firing on 8 Cylinders (L7)
Years of Membership: Jasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full yearsJasen has been a member for 11 full years
Topics: 260
Alias (AKA):
Van Model Year: 1997
Van Make/Model: Chevrolet Astro
Extra Info: AWD cargo Dutch door

Re: Looking for a delay relay

Postby 'cudapaul » November 11th 2011, 6:35am

Look up "555 timer" on Google. It's a small IC that can be wired to do exactly what you want, and much more.

If you don't want to build one, try an Altronix 6030 or 6062, or similar.

http://www.altronix.com/index.php?pid=2&model_num=6062