Chevy Astro and GMC Safari Forum banner

Power Windows , No work

7K views 17 replies 5 participants last post by  donkelly23 
#1 ·
OK, long time member haven't posted in years as the Triumph forums keeps me more than busy.
Question on the windows.
Neither of my windows work by switch. Pulled the switch and I have power at the wire end of the switches at the logical ones.
Now I am an expert at changes the drivers side as I have done it a number of time.
My question is :
Why do neither windows work. What are the chances that both motors fried at the same time?>
I have check both fuse boxes. Both are fine.
Any help please
Don

#4 ·
donkelly23 said:
... Pulled the switch and I have power at the wire end of the switches at the logical ones.
Does that mean...When you activate the switch one way you have + voltage on one side of the output of the switch, then when you activate the switch the other way you have + voltage on the OTHER output of the switch?

Simple enough to test the motors. Apply 12v in either polarity to the motor, it should spin one direction. Reverse the polarity, motor should spin the opposite direction.

The switch should do the same. Switch from BOTH GROUNDED to ONE SIDE +voltage then the OTHER SIDE +voltage as you operate the switch from AT REST to either direction.

Lump

#5 ·
Power on both sides of the switch
drivers- Dk Bl for up and Br for down
Pass.- L Bl for up and Tan for down.
Tomorrow check the motor on the drivers side.
Can't remember if the connection there was 2 wires or three.
Is the motor self grounding
Therefore run a hot lead to one connection and just run a ground to the motor case?

#8 ·
donkelly23 said:
Is the motor self grounding
Therefore run a hot lead to one connection and just run a ground to the motor case?
No. The motor is not grounded. Otherwise we couldn't reverse it.