Alternator Replacement 96 V6 Vortec AWD

Alternator Replacement 96 V6 Vortec AWD

Postby scobiejoe [OP] » June 24th 2012, 7:19pm

Hey Guys, I have a very clean 96 Astro 4.3 Vortec AWD with 53,000 miles on the clock with the Explorer conversion. I am based in France at the moment.

My Alternator is shot so I will have to do a replacement job. I will be ordering one from the U.S. soon but the problem is that I will have to attempt the job myself. French mechanics are a bit funny about American cars!

I am not a mechanic so I was hoping that some of you guys who know this engine inside out may be able to help me with the replacement. I need a detailed description of what is required. Where best to access the Alternator from, what to remove to work at it and what I need to complete the job. Basically, all the information and tips necessary to complete the job!

I have the tools and the time, all I need now is the knowledge!

Thanks in advance guys,

Irish Joe
Original Poster [OP]
scobiejoe
Fueling (Empty tank)
Fueling (Empty tank)
Years of Membership: scobiejoe has been a member for 8 full yearsscobiejoe has been a member for 8 full yearsscobiejoe has been a member for 8 full yearsscobiejoe has been a member for 8 full yearsscobiejoe has been a member for 8 full yearsscobiejoe has been a member for 8 full yearsscobiejoe has been a member for 8 full yearsscobiejoe has been a member for 8 full years
Topics: 5
Alias (AKA): Hook
Van Model Year: 1996
Van Make/Model: Chevrolet Astro
Extra Info: 4.3 V6 AWD Explorer

• Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Author

Re: Alternator Replacement 96 V6 Vortec AWD

Postby Jasen » June 24th 2012, 11:39pm