Misfire when wet

Misfire when wet

Postby Goden [OP] » September 29th 2013, 8:01pm

Hello. I'm new to automotive forums so if I leave anything out please don't hesitate to ask for anything I've missed.

Anywhere, here is the situation:

I have a 1998 Chevy AWD Astro van. It has, recently, begun to develop the problem of misfiring horribly when it is raining outside and water gets under the hood. It can sometimes be spits and sputters but can get as bad as having to 2-foot the gas and brake just to keep the RPM's up enough to stop it from stalling. A strong smell of fuel usually fills the cabin when it misfires like this. When stopped at red lights I have to put it into neutral and push on the accelerator a bit otherwise it'll sputter to a halt and stall. When roaring down the highway the problem goes away and doesn't start to misfire again until the van slows down (and RPM's drop). The van easily turns over when starting it and there is ignition but it may not stay running for long (unless reving it) if it is wet under the hood.

I've taken it to the shop in the past for this problem and the following has been replaced: Fuel pump, fuel injection assembly, fuel filter, spark leads and plugs.

I live in Vancouver which is a temperate rain-forest so as you can imagine - it isn't going to get dry any time soon. I can't get a hold of my mechanic at the moment so if you kind folks have any input of what I can look into I would appreciate it greatly.

Thanks!
Original Poster [OP]
Goden
Fueling (Empty tank)
Fueling (Empty tank)
Years of Membership: Goden has been a member for 7 full yearsGoden has been a member for 7 full yearsGoden has been a member for 7 full yearsGoden has been a member for 7 full yearsGoden has been a member for 7 full yearsGoden has been a member for 7 full yearsGoden has been a member for 7 full years
Topics: 1
Alias (AKA): Goden
Van Model Year: 1998
Van Make/Model: Chevrolet Astro
Extra Info: AWD

Re: Misfire when wet