Adding two stereo amplifiers need recommendation for new alt

Adding two stereo amplifiers need recommendation for new alt

Postby Safari_Rich [OP] » January 17th 2014, 4:08pm

I have a 2003 Safari RWD SLE. It has an AC compressor in the back and I am told the stock alt is 240 amps. I have done the big three upgrade and installed a Yellow Top Optima battery. The two amps total 2000 watts but are D class amps which should not draw too much. I guess my first question is: Do you think I need to upgrade ? The only problem I could foresee is driving with the amps cranked up and all the AC units blasting which is probable four months out of the year where I live in the NE. I was looking at the 320 amp Delco Remy Alternator. So the 2nd question is this a good alternator and how do I find out if it fits ? I guess you can tell I am not a mechanic.. Thanks
>
rich
Original Poster [OP]
Safari_Rich
Fueling (3/4 tank)
Fueling (3/4 tank)
Years of Membership: Safari_Rich has been a member for 6 full yearsSafari_Rich has been a member for 6 full yearsSafari_Rich has been a member for 6 full yearsSafari_Rich has been a member for 6 full yearsSafari_Rich has been a member for 6 full yearsSafari_Rich has been a member for 6 full years
Topics: 15
Alias (AKA): Safari_Rich
Van Model Year: 2003
Van Make/Model: GMC Safari

• Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Author

Re: Adding two stereo amplifiers need recommendation for new

Postby 97cargocrawler » January 17th 2014, 5:15pm

No way in hell is the stock alt 240 amps. Maybe more like 105 or something. AC compressor in the back? Like some aftermarket electronic thing? If it's stock rear AC then I wouldn't factor in the AC at all. The only thing powered off electricity for a stock AC system is the blower fans.

I'd say upgrade since stock alternators are only designed to power what comes from the factory. It wasn't designed to power anything you add on later.