Wiring Rear hatch on dutch doors

Wiring Rear hatch on dutch doors

Postby bramwell40 [OP] » July 29th 2010, 11:20pm

Hello,
I am a newb here, but I really have a question that has stumped me. I have a 1995 GMC Safari SLX AWD. It has dutch doors. The rear hatch and the driver side lower dutch door were badly rusted. I was able to purchased some used pieces from a salvage yard. It was quite an adventure getting the old pieces off and the new pieces on.
Here, however, is my dilemma. The wiring from the 1995 to the 2002 rear hatch has changed. I have been able to get things to the point where I can use the electric release on the hatch. I can also get the rear defroster to work. However, it appears that there has been a new piece added (looks like a large square capacitor) on the 2002. It has four wires from it rather than the older style that had only 3. I cannot figure out how to wire this. Does anyone have suggestions or wiring diagrams for the hatch?
Any help would be appreciated. I do not know if I have anything wired correctly on this, only that for now the rear hatch can be opened using the electric button.

Thanks for your time,

Dave
1995 GMC Safari, 6 cyl. 4.3 L type W engine with 191585 miles, AWD
Original Poster [OP]
bramwell40
Fueling (Empty tank)
Fueling (Empty tank)
Years of Membership: bramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full yearsbramwell40 has been a member for 10 full years
Topics: 3
Alias (AKA):
Van Make/Model: GMC Safari
Extra Info: 4.3L AWD

• Similar topics
    Replies
    Views
    Author
  • 2000 Astro rear Dutch Door won't open