Actual Cash Value: Should I push the issue?

Forum rules
This is NOT the place to post topics that could be better classified in another category. Please make every attempt to post in an appropriate category before posting here.

Please help us keep topics organized by making an effort to find an appropriate category before posting here. More often than not the posts in this forum could be moved to a better suited category.

Actual Cash Value: Should I push the issue?

Postby gastropod [OP] » January 21st 2016, 11:22pm

I am making settlement with the insurance company on my totalled '03 Safari SLT.
I received a letter stating how they determined the "Actual Cash Value", and if I have "additional information you wish us to consider, or if you believe we have not correctly determined the Actual Cash Value of your vehicle, please contact us."
I am kinda new to the Astro/Safari world, so I don't know too much about the "value" of these vans overall.
What I can say about mine is that it was very clean, no rust, never hit (very minor dent on left rear corner), interior clean and complete. Everything worked except for a couple very minor things like a light bulb in the radio, fan blower motor 'high' setting burned out. Just turned 170K the morning of the accident. Mechanically it was in really great shape, no oil leaks (that left puddles, maybe some weeping here and there), new rear brakes. Heck, two days prior I had put 378 miles on it delivering and picking up parts for work!